Feed the Need

22Feb06

Fry’s usually has some good deals on hard drives, so I finally bit the bullet and picked up a couple 250GB Seagate PATA drives this past weekend since they were on sale for $70 after rebate. This gives my Beyond TV server a much needed storage boost from 300GB to 800GB.

I then saw that Fry’s had 300GB Seagate SATA drives on sale for $99 after rebate and decided to get a couple of those to boost my DVD storage from 400GB to 1TB of movie streaming goodness.

I finally have a decent amount of storage for my digital needs, which should last me awhile. I looked into getting a fancy media server like a ReadyNAS X6 or unRAID server, but couldn’t justify spending so much money on a box with no actual storage. I also felt I don’t need any redundancy for this storage since if anything happens to these drives all I lose is some recorded TV and movies that I can re-rip from my collection. If I outgrow the amount of drive space that’s available in my servers, then I’ll just throw them all in one big tower case.

No Responses Yet to “Feed the Need”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

