Radio Shack 15-1880 Antenna Rocks!

28Feb06
Radio Shack antenna 15-1880

I have 2 HDTV tuner cards (ATI HDTV Wonder and Fusion5 USB) in my HTPC server that I use to view/record OTA HDTV with Beyond TV. I got a Radio Shack 15-1880 antenna on Friday to replace my RCA 1250, which was receiving solid UHF signals (FOX, ABC, CBS, etc), but not getting any VHF signals (NBC). Before the RCA antenna I tried a Terk HDTVi, which just plain sucked.

Setup was simple, but the Beyond TV HDTV signal checker was showing that the antenna was not picking up anything. I replaced my Channel Master amp with a regular splitter and voila…Beyond TV began to pick up signals for a total of 23 channels, including the stubborn NBC channel! I only got about 7 with the RCA antenna.

So, not only does this Radio Shack antenna not need an amp (it’s built in amp seems to do the job), but it also receives many more channels and delivers on its promise to tune both UHF and VHF equally well.

I should note that this antenna works well for me. Others’ experiences may vary due to their location. However, other reviews of this antenna seem to agree with my experience and rate it above other popular indoor antennas.

6 Responses to “Radio Shack 15-1880 Antenna Rocks!”

  1. 1 Matt

    Where did you find this antenna? I’ve been looking all over for it and it doesn’t appear to be sold by radioshack anymore.

  2. I bought it at Radio Shack back in February when they were still selling it. I got the last one in the store. Guess I got lucky.

  3. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.

    I will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently.
    I am quite sure I’ll learn plenty of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  4. There’s certainly a lot to learn about this
    topic. I like all the points you made.

  5. click here for greatest info related resource site anywhere

  6. Well I searched for the article title and found
    this, great read


Leave a Reply

