Review: Firefly Mini

09Mar06

I finally got my Firefly Mini last night after that delivery mess up the day before. Here’s my initial impressions.

Setup:

Snapstream claims:

Driver-free installation: just plug Firefly Mini into your PC and it automatically works as a HID device

This is pretty much true as all I did was plug the IR receiver into my PC’s USB port, and I was off and running.

They go on to market the Mini as a way to consolidate your remotes:

Simply use any learning remote control to “learn” Firefly Mini’s IR commands, and you’ll have one less remote control to worry about!

I was able to teach the Mini’s codes to my Harmony 659 remote with no issues. Now I have one remote that controls all my home theater components, including Beyond TV and Beyond Media.

NOTE: Be sure you have the Firefly Mini application running in your system tray. To launch it go to Start > Programs > Firefly Mini.

Look & Feel

Firefly Mini and Hauppauge remote comparison 2Some people have mentioned that the Mini looks like the Hauppauge remote, and I would tend to agree based on its size and general shape. However, the button layout is slightly different. It’s pretty light, but doesn’t feel as good in my hand as the original Firefly remote, which has a more Tivo-like peanut shape.

Firefly Mini in my handOverall, I don’t care about how it looks or how it feels in my hand since I will be using my Harmony remote. The Mini will find a home in a box or drawer somewhere.

Range

Snapstream also claims the Firefly Mini has the same 30 foot range as the original Firefly. While I didn’t test it for that exact range I was able to operate the Mini at the same distance as the original Firefly in my apartment. I slowly moved farther from my TV and down my hallway, and was still able to use the Mini.

IR requires that you aim the remote directly at the receiver, and some IR remotes that I’ve used in the past have been quite picky about this. The Firefly Mini is pretty good about this. You do need to be more precise with it than the RF-based Firefly, but after placing the receiver on top my TV I found that I could aim the Mini in its general direction and not necessary directly at it.

Almost Perfect

There is one truly annoying “feature” that I feel needs to be fixed. The “Guide” button on the Mini will stop whatever is playing (LiveTV or recording) before displaying the program guide. For those familiar with Beyond TV this button acts like the “F7” keyboard shortcut rather than the “E” keyboard shortcut, which displays the program guide over whatever is playing.

Those hoping the Firefly Mini can learn IR codes from other remotes (ex. learn your TV’s power on/off command) will be disappointed. Also, the Firefly Mini is not customizable, meaning you cannot re-map how each button functions. In Snapstream’s defense they have not indicated that it would have these capabilities, and has marketed it as an IR remote that can be incorporated into your existing universal learning remote.

Summary

Pros:

  • Easy to setup
  • Its IR commands can be taught to other universal learning remotes, eliminating the need to add the Firefly Mini to your growing list of remotes
  • Works with Beyond TV and Beyond Media right out of the box

Cons:

  • “Guide” button stops whatever is playing before displaying the program guide.

Missing / Assumed Features:

  • Cannot learn other remotes’ IR codes
  • Buttons are not customizable

Miscellaneous Pictures:

Firefly Mini in package Firefly Mini package contents Firefly Mini and Hauppauge remote comparison

Updates:



7 Responses to “Review: Firefly Mini”

  1. 1 Muneer Perapurath

    Is the firefly mini work with windows 7 ? How can I purchase from India ? Please reply me as soon as possible in my e mail address. Thanks

  2. 2 cars

    There are many details that need to be addressed when
    making an auto purchase. If you are unaware of these details, you could
    find yourself overpaying for the car that is
    not right for you. You will find some great advice in the
    article that follows that will assist you in
    purchasing your next car.

  3. Hey there, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog in Opera, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it
    has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, very good blog!

  4. This design is incredible! You most certainly know how to keep a reader entertained.

    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost.

    ..HaHa!) Excellent job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that,
    how you presented it. Too cool!

  5. I was suggested this web site through my cousin.
    I’m now not sure whether this publish is written via him as nobody else recognize such unique approximately my difficulty. You are amazing! Thank you!

  6. If you are going for most excellent contents like myself, only pay a visit this web page daily because it
    gives feature contents, thanks


  1. 1 The Advent » Blog Archive » links for 2006-03-12

Leave a comment