Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-950 USB HD Tuner

29Oct06
Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-950Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-950 Hosted on Zooomr

After reading about this tuner in the Snapstream forums and blog I caved, and picked one up at my local Circuit City. You can never have enough HD tuners!

The installation was fairly painless although I did run into a bit of a snag. I connected the tuner to my PC, and it was recognized. However, I could not install the driver for it. I tried everything, including pointing the driver installer at every folder that contained a driver with no luck. I found a driver updater script on the supplied CD, ran it, and all was good. Others didn’t mention this, so I guess I was just lucky.

Once the tuner was installed I ran the Beyond TV setup wizard, added it as a new HD tuner, and now I can record even more HD goodness.

Here’s some screenshots with the complete set here.

LostLost Hosted on Zooomr
Ghost WhispererGhost Whisperer Hosted on Zooomr
4 Responses to “Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-950 USB HD Tuner”

  1. It looks like you’ve got hardware menus working. Unless I use “Overlay,” everything starts tearing on scenes with motion.

    Is there any trick to making translucent menus work? My setup looks similar to yours.

    Thanks,
    Jeff

  2. What exactly are you system specs? You could try using fullscreen exclusive mode. Include “/displaymode:exclusivefs” option in your BTV shortcut.

    Example:
    “C:\Program Files\SnapStream Media\Beyond TV\BTVD3DShell.exe” /displaymode:exclusivefs

    Replace what is in the quotes with your path to BTV if you don’t use the default install folder.

    You can set what resolution is used in exclusive fullscreen mode in the web admin (Settings > Advanced Settings > ViewScape Settings).

    Honestly, I use overlay for both my server and clients. My clients tear in 3Daccelerated mode, and I just like the picture quality better with Overlay. My server can handle 3Daccelerated with a few tears ever so often, but I still like Overlay better. I just used 3Daccelerated to grab the screenshots, since you cannot get a video screenshot with overlay.

  3. Online shopping stores offer a large number of figurines manufactured from glass, ceramic, wood
    or porcelain. Of course neither you yourselves nor
    you and your guests would like to eat in the utensils that are unclean and damaged.
    Because it really is such an investment, you’ll want to try and keep your flatware clean and looking its best at all times.

  4. You don’t have to hit the gym for two and three hours each day to lose weight, but it
    does help to squeeze in 30 minutes of physical activity
    each day. Avocados- Although not my favorite, are high in
    fats, the good ones. Do not be tempted to lose
    weight as quickly as you can, because a crash diet will
    have you eating less than a thousand calories a day slowing down your metabolism.


Leave a Reply

