HDHomeRun to the rescue…hopefully

20Feb07

I stopped receiving my over-the-air (OTA) HD channels though Beyond TV, so I tried tuning them with one of my DVico Fusion5 USB tuners and the Fusion app and found very weak signals. I re-positioned my indoor antenna, and was able to receive most of of the channels again, but have lost FOX. I already could never receive NBC since it’s a VHF station here.

That pretty much did it. I disconnected my antenna from one of my Fusion5 USB tuners, and hooked up my cable TV connection to see what digital stations I could receive, which turned out to be all the major networks (FOX, NBC, ABC, CBS) and some other channels like Discovery HD. I ordered an HDHomeRun on the spot since Beyond TV support is in the works. I plan to install and test it with VLC first, then try to set it up with MCE 2005 on a test box I have. If that works out, then I’ll continue testing the setup with MCE by recording some of my HD programs and streaming them to my Xbox 360 in the living room. If all goes well, then Beyond TV support will hopefully come soon, I’ll buy another HDHomeRun, and have 4 HD tuners being fed by QAM on my Beyond TV server.

UPDATE 02-24-2007: I managed to start viewing QAM HD shows from the HDHomeRun utility in a matter of minutes after hooking it up. The channel scan took longer than any part of the setup. I decided to use a nice little “bridge” application, BTV-Externinator, which takes shows scheduled on QAM channels in Beyond TV and sends them to the HDHomeRun utility application for recording. It creates the illusion that the HDHomeRun tuners are being controlled by Beyond TV. The shows appear as “in-progress” in the Beyond TV “Recorded Shows” menu. You can even view them as they are being recorded! Hopefully there will be native Beyond TV support for this device soon, so I’m able to view LiveTV from these tuners. That’s the missing piece to the puzzle for me.

5 Responses to “HDHomeRun to the rescue…hopefully”

  1. As great as the HDHomeRun is a better OTA antenna would have been less money, not to mention the money you would have saved on your cable bill.

  2. Not by much. A good outdoor OTA antenna would cost around $100 or so. I’m tired of fiddling with antennas. I do get pretty solid reception with my indoor antenna for the channels that I do get, so I’ll continue to use my current OTA HD tuners. I’m hoping by adding QAM tuners I can get those few channels that I cannot get OTA. I’d have to pay for cable anyway since I really like the premium channels too.

  3. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright violation?
    My site has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my agreement. Do you know any solutions to help reduce content from being stolen? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  4. I am new to building sites and I was wanting to know if having your blog title related to your articles and other
    content really that crucial? I notice ykur
    title, “HDHomeRun to the rescue…hopefully ” does appear to be spot oon with
    wat your blog iis about yet, I prefer to keep my title less content descriptive and based more arouynd site branding.

    Would you thinnk this is a god ideda or bad idea? Any kind of assistance would be greatly appreciated.


  1. 1 Coming soon: HD over cable with Beyond TV « Project HTPC

Leave a Reply

