Minor issue with my HTPC client

23Apr07

I ran into a snag with my client HTPC. After a reboot I got an error, “checksum error – defaults loaded”. I ensured the RAM was securely in-place, I replaced the CMOS battery, but then the system would hang at the Windows loading screen. I then decided to just reformat and do a clean install. I found my DVD-ROM was dead, so I replaced it with one i had lying around. Just for kicks I tried the boot process again, and found the PC booted just fine. That bit of luck saved me the pain of a clean install. Not a very exciting story, but might help some unfortunate souls who run into this error. I managed to find a bunch of links to a variety of solutions to this error, but none that mentioned replacing a dead DVD drive.

No Responses Yet to “Minor issue with my HTPC client”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

