How to install Ubuntu Linux on a Mac using Parallels

24Apr07

I got a comment, asking how I did this. Here’s a guide that may help:
How to install Ubuntu in OS X using Parallels – a complete walkthrough

Some of the screenshots are out of date, but the basics are there. I had to select the Parallels “OS Type” as “Solaris” and the “OS Version” as “Other Solaris” when setting up and installing Ubuntu. After the Ubuntu installation was done, and I did the reboot of Ubuntu I noticed it wouldn’t boot up. I found I needed to stop the Parallels VM, change the OS Type to “Linux” and the OS Version to “Other Linux kernal 2.6”. I then started the VM and Ubuntu booted up fine.

Hope this helps some frustrated people out there.

No Responses Yet to “How to install Ubuntu Linux on a Mac using Parallels”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

