Want to get Joost?

02May07

joostJoost Hosted on Zooomr

Now that Joost has signed new deals with additional content providers and is one step closer to going live they are providing beta testers with “unlimited” invites (999 from what I see).

Personally, I haven’t been able to view a single program on Joost yet. I always get the error you see in the above image, “The program is unavailable right now”. I’m suing their current 0.9.4 client for Mac OS X. It seems to be a big resource hog, current content is unimpressive. This whole thing reminds me of Gmail when it was first released. It started with a invitation-only beta, which made it so exclusive that everyone wanted in. Smart marketing, but so far undeserving of all the media hype. Perhaps once they launch with all their new content and hopefully an improved client I may change my mind.

Anyway, since Joost hasn’t impressed me very much and since most who are interested will probably get an invite somewhere soon due to the “unlimited invites” I don’t think I should make you work to get in. Therefore, the first 10 people (seems like the popular number) to leave a comment with their email address (and an optional real comment) will get an invite from me. Hopefully you’ll come back every now and then to check out my humble site. You can always subscribe via RSS if you’re too lazy (like me) to keep checking for updates.

UPDATE: Well, I’m finally able to view shows in Joost. I’m still unimpressed. The picture can look fairly good as seen in the picture below.

joost_goodJoost: Two-A-Days Hosted on Zooomr

However, most of the time I see a very pixelated image like in the image below, especially at full screen.

joost_badJoost: Two-A-Days Hosted on Zooomr

This is too bad, especially since Joost claims:

With Joost, you get all the things you love about TV, including a high-quality full-screen picture

I really hope they get their streaming issues worked out since I’m really rooting for the service to do well. It’s aiming at serving free, high quality, mainstream TV shows, which is always a good thing.

20 Responses to “Want to get Joost?”

  1. 1 TBA

    wow, you really sell the site so much i am curious to try this crappy service πŸ™‚ if you would send an invite my way it would be appreciated.

  2. 2 pslax15

    An invite would be awesome for a fellow HTPC’er. Here’s the addy: pslax15 (at) yahoo (dawt) com

    That sucks that you haven’t been able to get anything to play. Are you having problems just on your Mac, or on XP as well?

    From what you’re saying, you’re right – it does sound a lot like the gmail beta. Hopefully Joost at least delivers the goods and doesn’t disappoint. I’d love to find out first hand! πŸ˜‰

  3. 3 reighty

    Ive been looking in to getting an invite for Joost, just to see if it is any good.
    I would love to have an invite if possible. Thx

  4. 4 jjm

    Not impressed yet? I’ve heard that a lot. Anyways, i still have no idea what it’s suppose to be. Mind passing an invite my way? Thx πŸ™‚

  5. 5 DRB

    I guess i’ll give it a shot to see if it’s any good. So sent an invite please, THX

    DRB

  6. 6 Jonathon

    Thanks for the good info on Joost. Could you please send me an invite so I can beta test it and see what its like for myself?

    Thanks – Jonathon

  7. 7 Lars

    I’ve been curious about Joost and would very much like an invite. In return I can offer the addition of your RSS feed in my bloglines account. Fair trade? πŸ™‚

  8. 8 Lars

    Got the invite, thank you very much! πŸ™‚ I already put your rss feed in my bloglines lineup, so now you gotta get cracking on the writing. πŸ˜‰ Btw, got here from your post at the SnapStream forums. I’m looking forward to the day when my BTV setup is available in my basement (either Link or simply a whole new setup so two machines doesn’t have to fight over what channel is selected) together with the projector that currently has to make do with a dvd player.

  9. 9 Jonathon

    Thanks again for sending me the invite.

  10. I’ll take an invite. Sounds as though you have had some trouble with it so far. I hope thats not the norm.

  11. 11 Wildfan

    I’ve been waiting to try joost on my htpc, and would very much appreciate an invite…

  12. 12 TBA

    I didn’t really mean that Joost is a crappy service, it was just a joke (it may be, maybe not, i would like to find out though). i really would like to try it out on my HTPC… i saw you post on the http://www.BYOPVR.com and would appreciate the invite.

  13. 13 TBA

    ignore that ^^^… my e-mail client decided to delete the invite without telling me a search of the deleted itmes folder turned it up! thank you!

  14. 14 boloman

    do you happen to have any more invites to share? just curious about what Joost has to offer. thanks in advance.

  15. 15 sam99

    Ah, another not so hot review of joost. You give away your 10 beta keys yet? Just started taking an active part in the htpc crowd as I built my house entertainment two weeks ago and have not run in to anyone with a key. Thanks either way, enjoyed checking out your site.

  16. 16 Jonathon

    I was just curious if you had any more information in relations to Joost. When is its release date? Also will it have commercials? Is there a subscription fee – Monthly – Yearly – Lifetime?

    I ask because I thought I heard they are going to charge a fee. Anyone?

  17. 17 sam99

    thanks for the invite. I checked out Joost last night. Connection was flaky as I got an unavailable message a few times in the first half hour I tried to connect, but then I connected after that. I flipped through the available shows and did not see a whole lot to watch =/

    What I have been craving lately are the old school kung fu movies, the ones back when the story was basically the main character walking down some road for some reason and seemed to come upon a different fighting style master. He would defeat him/them and then move on down the road to the next one. The Bruce Lee stuff where he would fight 30 guys at one time while the guys would conveniently attack in ones and twos at a time never really did it for me. Bring back old school kung fu! =)

  18. 18 Zyl

    Do you still have any invites left? im curious how this works πŸ™‚

  19. 19 seby

    Hi,

    Would appreciate an invitation.
    Thank you much.

    S

  20. 20 Jonathon

    I have been testing it out on and off for a couple of weeks now. Joost seems to be crashing on my system quite a bit lately. AMD 4200+ AM2 1gb Corsair DDR2(800) 6150 ABIT Motherboard.

    Also your right selection stinks right now. The only thing I find myself watching is comedy central’s Aqua Teen Hunger Force – This is the only one where I can stand the bad shading. I have it hooked up to a 42 Projection DLP Tv.


Leave a Reply

