Windows Home Server will be sold by itself

16May07

WHS Login screen
Image from TechRepublic

Storage Is Fun: Windows Home Server to be Available on OEM (That Means You Can Buy It Solo) – Gizmodo

This is great news although not really a surprise. I’m sure it would have really pissed off all the beta testers if they couldn’t buy a license to keep it running on their home brewed boxes, including myself.

One Response to “Windows Home Server will be sold by itself”

  1. 1 Lars

    I wonder what the cost of the OEM version might be. It’d have to be really low for me to consider swapping out my trusty FreeNAS installation. Though, it might take more than a low price, since it also serves up NFS mounts for me so I can enjoy seamless sharing of files between my Windows, Linux and FreeBSD boxes..


Leave a Reply

